Six Degrees of Separation?


An interesting thing happened last week.  I was sitting with Denise (social media and event planning maven) in my home office, a.k.a. kitchen.  My phone rang and a client was on the other end.  He said “Ann Spoor!” and I said “Pat ____!”   Denise said, ‘I know a Pat _____-  we went to high school in Houston though, so I’m sure it’s not the same person.’  Think again!

Well, this client happens to be in Houston, so I called him back and put Denise on the phone.  They haven’t seen each other for 20 years.  She moved to my town, Denver, many years ago.  And here they are, in my home, reminiscing about old times and catching up.

Six degrees of separation (also referred to as the “Human Web”) refers to the idea that, if a person is one step away from each person they know and two steps away from each person who is known by one of the people they know, then everyone is at most six steps away from any other person on Earth.

How many steps are we today from every other person on Earth?  1? 2? 3? On LinkedIn alone, I am 3 degrees away from over 6 million people.  No, I don’t know them all, but I can reach them all through one networking tool.  We are all getting closer to each other in this global community.

About annspoor
Ann Spoor is the Jerry McGuire to Corporate Executives and Professionals. She is an Executive Talent Agent, Executive Coach, Career Manager, Executive Branding Expert, and Social Media Coach. Ann lives in Denver with her husband Mark and their 2 kids. The Leadership Lattice is an interview series conducted by Ann Spoor CEO & Founder of Executive Lattice. The series focuses on Leadership in the private & public sector. Please subscribe to this blog to follow along in the discussion. www.executivelattice.com

Leave a Reply

